Formula Ford 2000 Series

Menstuff® has compiled the following information on the Formula Ford 2000 race series.

Latest News
Juliana Gonzalez - 15 year-old girl driver from Columbia
Wed site:
Series coordinator Sandy Shamlian at 301-698-9009


FF2000 has been around in various guises since 1974, when it kicked off in England. It arrived over here a few years later, but the Pro series as we know it only dates to 1990.

The first race, sanctioned by USAC, took place at Willow Springs on April 22, 1990. It was won from the pole by Vince Puleo Jr., who won $3000 for his efforts. Also among the field that day were Les Phillips (who currently promotes -- and races in -- the Pacific F2000 Series and runs the Buttonwillow race track), Peter Hastrup, who, like Les, is still competing in the Pacific series, midget star Robby Flock, and Jamie (son of Champ Car team owner Rick) Galles.

The Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 Championship is sanctioned by the National Auto Sports Association (NASA) and represents one of the first rungs on the professional open-wheel auto racing ladder in North America. It features modern, purpose-built, single-seat race cars powered by either four-cylinder, double-overhead cam, fuel-injected 2.0-liter Ford Zetec engines, which produce around 160 hp, or the older, slightly less powerful, carbureted 2.0-liter Ford "Pinto" engines which will be vying for Cooper Gold Cup honors. All cars employ "slick" (treadless) Cooper Zeon racing tires and are capable of speeds in excess of 140 mph.

Formula Ford 2000 originated in England in 1974. Alumni include Formula 1 World Champions Ayrton Senna and Damon Hill; Champ Car World Series title-winners Jimmy Vasser and Paul Tracy; Indy Racing League Champion Sam Hornish Jr.; and the past two Indianapolis 500 winners Buddy Rice and Dan Wheldon

For 2006, the Cooper Tires Formula Ford 2000 Championship Series will share venues with ALMS, Grand Am, Champ Car & SCCA Pro Racing. If you are looking for great racing on a reasonable budget, then contact us about the 2006 Season.

Formula Ford 2000 Cooper Tires Championship Series 2006 Race Schedule of Events

May 11-13 - Road Atlanta, Braselton, Georgia with Formula D Drifting
May 19-21 - Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington, Ohio with the American Le Mans Series
June 16-18 - Portland International Raceway, G.I. Joe Champ Car Grand Prix of Portland, Oregon with Champ Car World Series
June 23-25 - Grand Prix of Cleveland, Burke Lakefront Airport, Cleveland, Ohio with Champ Car World Series
July 7-9 - Molson Grand Prix of Toronto, Exhibition Place, Toronto, Ontario, Canada with Champ Car World Series
September 1-3 - Grand Prix of Mosport, Mosport International Raceway, Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada with the American Le Mans Series
September 22-24 - Grand Prix of Road America, Road America, Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin with Champ Car World Series

*    *    *

Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Statement
Menstuff® Directory
Menstuff® is a registered trademark of The National Men's Resource Center™
©1996-2018, The National Men's Resource Center