Words from Sara
Related Issue:
Women Racers Directory, Women in Racing, Women Racers, More Women in Racing, Race Schedules, Notable Women
Contact: broken, E-Mail broken

Direct access to this web page:

Sara Maloney has been competing in several levels of racing since the tender age of eight. Maloney began her racing career in competition go-karts, while later moving into 4 cylinder chevette stock cars, dirt late-models, and she even has a little experience in asphalt late models under her belt, however, not as much as she would have liked to experience. With the help of so many, especially her family, Sara has been competing and winning for over half her life. Now at the age of nineteen she is finishing her freshman year at the University of Cincinnati Clermont College in Interactive Multimedia/Graphic design. She plans on receiving at least an Associates degree and possibly furthering to a Bachelors degree. In her spare time she likes to draw, play the drums, airbrush, deer hunt, play paintball, and snow ski. As for music Sara likes a wide variety. Sara has much respect for life and believes that life is full of meaning and it is up to you to understand it in your own way. We all have our own definitions of life and the meanings of life. Sara also believes that the world is what we make of it and our lives are as meaningful as we make them.


Sara will continue to search for a large sponsorship or full time ride in 2006, preferably in an asphalt car or a series car such as the Dodge Weekly or Hooters Pro Cup. Overall, even if Sara could just get the opportunity to get on a team not necessarily as a driver, but as a member to learn and work up to the experience of a full time ride she would greatly appreciate the chance.

Words from Sara

Hi, my name is Sara Maloney. I was born in Cincinnati, OH and my hometown is in Batavia, OH. I have lived in the same house my whole life. I attended St Louis School, in Owensville, OH 1st thru 8th grade. I attended my freshman year at McNicholas High School and then began Batavia High School my sophomore year. I graduated in 2004 from Batavia High School. I have been recently attending college at U. C. Clermont for Interactive Multimedia and graphic design. Besides racing, I have many other hobbies. I have been deer hunting with my dad for as long as I can remember and still am to this day. I have been drawing and into art since I was old enough to pick up a pencil or crayon. I enjoyed playing basketball for school and I have also played paintball several times. In the winter, I enjoy skiing at Perfect North Slopes in Indiana. When I have the time and space I also like to play the drums. I enjoy creating things, building models, crocheting, and driving anything with a motor that goes fast, especially my racecar.

Since I was 9 years old, I started racing competition go-karts in Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana. I loved racing go-karts and all the people that we met along the way. When I was 10, I was in 1st Place points by mid-season at Fantasy Tracks in Middletown, OH. However, I finished third for the season, with several feature wins.

When I was 12, I received the Sportsman of the Year award at Tollesboro, Ky I moved into the Chevette Class when I was 13. I was to young to race at the tracks in Ohio. Although my dad found a track in Goddard, Ky that we were allowed to race at. We drove 1hr and 45min one way every Saturday afternoon. Home by 1 or 2 am. I finished 6th Place in points, with two-feature wins and was awarded Rookie of the Year. The following year I started racing at Brown County Speedway. I won the Hat Trick at Brown County, becoming the first female and the youngest to ever win a Hat Trick in the 32 years the track had been there. (The Hat Trick is winning the fast car dash, the Heat race and then the Feature race.)

By the age of 15, I started racing in the Late Model division at Brushcreek Motorsports Complex. Then at 16, into my second season I was still running at Brushcreek. I have competed in the Northern All-Stars series qualifying eighth and finishing eighth in the feature. I became the first female ever to run in a MAC Series race. It has all been very fulfilling and exciting for me. I attended Florence Speedway for the 2002 Hall of Fame and I was fortunate enough to be introduced to the fans by Bill Holder and I got to meet several drivers, such as Donnie Moran and many more great drivers.

In 2005, I found someone with an Aspahlt Latemodel, which is what I would like to move into. The car was pretty much in peices but we began working on it to get it back together to practice. It looked just like a Nextel Cup car and had a Rousch racing engine in it. Well, finally after getting it in shape and scaling it we went to Kilkare Speedway to practice. My first time out I broke the track record and wasn't even giving it everything it had. I went out twice more for a few extra laps. Unfortunely, after my third time out I should have pulled off when I felt a push in the car, but didn't. With my lack of expeirence I put the front right into the wall on the backstreath and tore it up pretty badly. There wasn't enough time or money to fix it before the end of the season so that deal was done.

I love to race. Racing to me is very special. It’s more than just a hobby or sport. Racing is very family orientated and that makes it even more special. Although, I will have to say that I love the sound of the engines, the green flag dropping, the competition, the speed and especially the fans. The fans are very important to me and they make me feel even more confident. I want to thank all of you who cheer me on and come to support the sport that I love.

I have had the help and support of so many people all my life. Whether they were related to me or not, I appreciate it all a great deal. Although without the love and support from my parents and younger sister, Samantha (15) I would not be where I am today. Thanks, Sammi for giving up your Saturday nights to cheer me on and support me. I would have never thought that I would make it this far, but that is something my parents have made possible for me. And I will always remember to keep God in my heart, because he is the one that made it all happen and he is the one who has protected me each time I roll on and off the track. Thank you to all and God Bless,

Name: Sara Maloney
DOB: 2-27-86
Born: Cincinnati, OH
Resides: Batavia, OH
Marital Status: Single
Sponsor: James Bartlett
Car Owner: James Bartlett is 2005 car owner
Car Make & #: #02, GRT chassis, Ford body, Ford Crate engine
Other Hobbies: Attending school for graphic design at University of
Cincinnati Clermont (freshman this year) 


1. What type of racing are you doing? I race Dirt Late Model. I am racing chassis sheet metal body, a car where they make all the body and graphics. This is my 4th year running. 

2. How long have you been racing? I have been race 10 years on local tracks in Ohio. Next year I race Fastrak, it’s the new series of racing that helps low budget racers continue racing because racing is so costly. So this new series is hoping to get more people back to racing and help bring back the sport. During the 2005 season I will be racing in 8 states, Virginia, West Virginia, Ohio, Tennessee, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, South Carolina. 

3. How did you get started in racing? And what made you want to get into racing being a female, basically what has attracted you to the sport? I got started racing at age 3 in golf carts and my Dad would place blocks on the pedals so I could touch the pedals. At age 6, my Dad got me my own tractor and we would plow together and then drag race the tractors. At age 9, got a go-cart and made a track in the back yard. Then later I went to watch a racing competition and then I bought a classy cart. My Dad is a big influence on me; he used to race stock cars in the 70s. But he is not pushing me to race; he is there for support. I am doing this on my own because of the love of the sport and that is what I really want to do.

4. What is your favorite track and why? The first 3 years did well at Lawrenceburg, Indiana? 

5. What is your least favorite track and why? Probably Bardstown Speedway because I didn’t do too well, didn’t like that type of track.

6. What are your future goals? My main goal is to make it into NASCAR. I always wanted to work up to that. James Bartlett is trying to assist me in promotions and advance my racing career. I also want to race Late Models or the ARCA and Hooters cup series. 

7. Biggest challenges you have faced? Probably being a female people look at me differently. I look at myself as another driver because that is what I want to do. I was intentionally put in the wall twice when driving stock cars and that lead to me being hospitalized. I can drive better than half of the guys out there. Some people try to fight with me because I am a female. Some driver Dads complain. I was disqualified for no reason and black carded.

8. What would be your advice to someone getting into racing? It's not a game. People think it is a game. It is harder than it looks. You have to keep your head on straight. Inside my car, it says “think, stay cool” with a smile face around it. My Dad always had put that in my previous cars.

9. Do you race anything other then a Truck/Car/Modified? No, not professionally. For fun I ride dirt bikes in my backyard.

10. What do you consider your home track? My home track is Brushcreek Motorsports Complex.

11. Describe how important it is to have the support of your family? Family is very important to me. They have been there since I was riding go-carts. My Mom always questions me but has been they’re supporting me at every race. Her sister Samantha, who now does karate, gave up go-carts so she could get higher up and pursue her career. My Mom has video taped every race for 8 months out the year on every Saturday. My Dad is her biggest supporter. Racing is a very family oriented sport, my whole family gets involved.

12. What keeps you going? The competition, the adrenalin, and the love and desire for racing in general. It keeps getting greater every year.

13. What do you feel are your strengths and weakness? Strengths: I am a clean, smooth driver. There are people all over the racetrack but I consider myself steady. I showed my driving skill well, but I can't wait till this year where in the series all the motors are equal, so now I can really show my driving skills much better.

14. List your Sponsor's here so we can give them the credit they deserve.

a. Trick Vinyl Graphics
b. James Bartlett

I would also like to add a special thanks to my family, my sister Samantha Maloney (14 yrs old) and my parents, along with the rest of my family and friends for all their support throughout my entire racing career and also for supporting me outside of racing as well. I really appreciate all the help and support and again thanks. To read more on Sara Malonely you can visit her website at E-Mail

My Wife and I have a 19 year old that has been racing since 8 years old. She is a A-B Student at the Unversity Of Cincinnati,and very proud of her in so many ways. She has been in dirt racing up until this year were she has gotten lucky enough to get a asphalt ride. Michael J. Maloney, E-Mail

*    *    *
©1996-2018 by Gordon Clay